catchup

Do as I say, not as I do:

If you have a blog, you create the expectation that you will post at least once or twice a week. So I’ve got a lot of catching up to do…

Two items I’ve been meaning to share, both about contacts that came entirely via SL:

1.) I received an inworld IM one day from an avatar named Adrianna, who had used the inworld Search and found Quinnipiac University mentioned in my profile. I arranged to meet her in my favorite place in SL, Lafitte’s Blacksmith Shop Bar in New Orleans, where we proceeded to have a wonderful chat about the Master’s Program in Interactive Communications.

I connected her with the other students in SL, and with the Prof who brought us inworld and who maintains both an avatar and an SL group. Adrianna met and chatted with him as well, and long story short: She has applied and been accepted to the program. SL is officially an educational recruiting channel.

2.) My avatar has a profile on Facebook (contemplate that for a second) and belongs to several SL related Facebook groups. Through one of those groups, I was contacted by a journalism student in India who was doing a paper on SL. She wanted to send me a questionnaire about my SL use; I immediately asked her if she could send it to me inworld rather than by email, because it would be “more fun” than getting it as a Word doc attachment.

She sent it to me as an SL notecard, which I filled out and sent back. I also put her onto some of my fellow students and gave her some other leads for sources (like danah boyd and Sherry Turkle). Long story short: she completed the paper and posted it on her blog at my suggestion.

Cross-world, cross-cultural collaboration. I love it!

Leave a Reply

